Aquitaine-Euskadi: 4th Euroregional EGCT

This new ‘Aquitaine-Euskadi’ Euroregion in sthe fourth of its kind to be registered as an European Grouping for Territorial Cooperation (EGCT). The others are:
  • Pyrénées-Méditerranée,
  • Tirolo-Alto Adige-Trentino,
  • Galicia-Norte du Portugal


Objectives and missions

The primary objectives of the EGCT are:
  • To foster a comprehensive, multi-faceted approach to cooperation
  • To develop territorial cooperation in a European context
  • To enhance the visibility of both 2 regions at a European level
Concretely, the EGCT can attract and manage European funding and, where appropriate, act as project commissioner on development programmes launched as part of this initiative. The EGCT will work constantly to attract further European funding for projects created by institutions and organisations from the Euroregion.